Electric Voice Records

Bit of Smile – Martin Dupont

[soundcloud url=”http://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/79856180″ params=”visual=true&liking=false&sharing=false&auto_play=false&show_comments=false&continuous_play=false&origin=tumblr” width=”100{c78b1a64dac6ce50a7c652ec3815911a7fb7fabb7e618ba199999cc6fb199c59}” height=”500″ iframe=”true” /]

On this deluxe compilation, Electric Voice Records offers yet another exploration of historical and contemporary underground music. Whereas last year’s Electric Voice V/A release focused on alternative approaches to electronic pop music, this new album mines a darker spectrum of genres, one that spans more than three decades of minimalist synth and industrial work. Here, new generation artists like Tropic of Cancer and Martial Canterel (Xeno & Oaklander) are seen to extend rather than revive the music of their influences. Electric Voice II marries these young artists with pioneers from the beginning days of this music, truly groundbreaking acts like Ike Yard, the first America band to sign with Factory Records, and Throbbing Gristle/Psychic TV’s enigmatic Genesis P-Orridge, now performing some of her most poignant material to date as Thee Majesty. Other featured artists include Das Ding and French group Martin Dupont, who both offer cuts from their respective early 80’s archives. There are also exclusive tracks by ADN’ Ckrystall, Frank (Just Frank), Vita Noctis, and Nine Circle. Taken together, the seamless flow of these tracks, despite the span of generations, makes clear the continued relevance of these practices and pure electronic sounds. Juan Mendez (Silent Servant) provides cover artwork, with additional design by Dmytrij Wulffius. Brandon Hocura at Polyphasic Studios offers the meticulous final master.

Electric Voice II is scheduled for release in both a digital format and as an edition of 500 LPs on March 1/2013.

A1 Real Eyes – Thee Majesty
A2 Who Will Remain – Martial Canterel
A3 Der Stasi Palace – ADN’ Ckrystall
A4 Bit of Smile – Martin Dupont
A5 Fall Apart – Tropic Of Cancer

B1 Traversez le Pont – Frank (Just Frank)
B2 Elysians – Ike Yard
B3 Serial Killer – Vita Noctis
B4 Mercy – Nine Circles
B5 End Credits Roll – Das Ding



Femminielli – A Que Quieres Jugar (Electric Voice Compilation)

[soundcloud url=”http://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/52394291″ params=”visual=true&liking=false&sharing=false&auto_play=false&show_comments=false&continuous_play=false” width=”100{c78b1a64dac6ce50a7c652ec3815911a7fb7fabb7e618ba199999cc6fb199c59}” height=”500″ iframe=”true” /]

Femminielli from Electric Voice Compilation 2LP 2012


Martial Canteral – Navigations Vol. 1 LP/DL

[soundcloud url=”http://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/102407142″ params=”visual=true&liking=false&sharing=false&auto_play=false&show_comments=false&continuous_play=false” width=”100{c78b1a64dac6ce50a7c652ec3815911a7fb7fabb7e618ba199999cc6fb199c59}” height=”500″ iframe=”true” /]

Martial Canteral – Navigations Vol. 1 LP/DL
Martial Canterel’s Sean McBride began producing minimal dance music on analog synthesisers in 2002. His unique sound would go on to shape the cold wave/minimal-electronic movement of the last decade, but despite his influence, Sean’s work stands apart from the genres he has created. Instead of looking to any scene aesthetic, McBride has always turned inward, focusing on craft, process, and composition. Navigations Vol. 1 returns to those early days to chronicle sketches, unfinished works, and forgotten tracks. In this material we hear a pioneering artist draft the blueprint for what would become 21st century synth music.


Automelodi – Digresse

[soundcloud url=”http://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/113131973″ params=”visual=true&liking=false&sharing=false&auto_play=false&show_comments=false&continuous_play=false” width=”100{c78b1a64dac6ce50a7c652ec3815911a7fb7fabb7e618ba199999cc6fb199c59}” height=”500″ iframe=”true” /]

Surlendemains Acides is the second full length from Xavier Paradis’ project Automelodi, and his first on new label Electric Voice Records.
As with Automelodi’s past efforts, this sophomore LP does offer a nod to obscure ‘80/’90s European electronic music —artists such as Trisomie 21 and Grauzone among others— but the main focus of the arrangements, melodies and production on Surlendemains Acides is to frame and carry the album’s very dense and personal lyrical universe: a bittersweet, angular path, haunted by shades of anxiety and disenchantment. These themes translate especially well through Paradis’ cold, yet shimmering French vocals, to create a listening experience with both unusual depth and levity. As Paradis clearly moves towards straightforward songcraft on this latest effort, the Automelodi project is elevated beyond a brilliant work of post modern electronic music to become a true stand-out within the broader context of popular music.